BUYUSA.GOV -- U.S. Commercial Service

United Kingdom

U.S. Public Holidays

Below is a list of U.S. Bank Holidays, known as Public or Federal Holidays, for the remainder of 2016 and for 2017.

The Embassy is closed on both U.S. Holidays and UK Holidays.

Public Holidays 2016

Day Observed

Date

Columbus Day

2nd Monday in October

Monday, October 10, 2016

Veteran’s Day 

November 11 

Friday, November 11, 2016  

Thanksgiving Day 

4th Thursday in November

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Christmas Day

December 25 

Monday, December 26, 2016

Public Holidays 2017

Day Observed

Date

New Year’s Day

January 1

Monday, January 2, 2017

Martin Luther King's Birthday  

3rd Monday in January      

Monday, January 16, 2017

Presidents Day

3rd Monday in February

Monday, February 20, 2017  

Memorial Day

Last Monday in May

Monday, May 29, 2017

Independence Day 

July 4

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Labor Day

1st Monday in September 

Monday, September 4, 2017

Columbus Day

2nd Monday in October

Monday, October 9, 2017

Veteran’s Day 

November 11 

Friday, November 10, 2017  

Thanksgiving Day 

4th Thursday in November

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Day

December 25 

Monday, December 25, 2017

Virtually all the states observe certain other days during the year, the main ones being:

February 12th Lincoln's Birthday
Good Friday

Other American Celebration Days are:

Groundhog Day February 2nd
Mother's Day Second Sunday in May
Father's Day Third Sunday in June
Halloween October 31st

Further details on individual American holidays are available at:
http://www.usa.gov/citizens/holidays.shtml

Note on Daylight Saving Time in the U.S.

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is achieved by advancing the clock one hour. Most states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions observe Daylight Saving Time beginning at 2.00 a.m. on the second Sunday in March, and ending at 2.00 a.m. on the first Sunday of November. Arizona, Hawaii, American Samoa, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands do not observe DST.

Back to top






  Notice to Visitors!


  The link you have chosen will take you to a non-U.S. Government website.

  If the page does not appear in 5 seconds, please click this: outside web site

  BuyUSA.gov is managed by the International Trade Administration and external links are covered by its website  disclaimer statement.