BUYUSA.GOV -- U.S. Commercial Service

United Kingdom

U.S. Public Holidays

Below is a list of U.S. Bank Holidays, known as Public or Federal Holidays, for 2014 and the remainder of 2013.

The Embassy is closed on both U.S. Holidays and UK Holidays.

Public Holidays 2014

Day Observed

Date

New Year’s Day

January 1

Wednesday , January 1, 2014

Martin Luther King's Birthday  

3rd Monday in January      

Monday, January 20, 2014

Presidents Day

3rd Monday in February

Monday, February 17, 2014  

Memorial Day

Last Monday in May

Monday, May 26, 2014

Independence Day 

July 4

Friday, July 4, 2014

Labor Day

1st Monday in September 

Monday, September 1, 2014

Columbus Day

2nd Monday in October

Monday, October 13, 2014

Veteran’s Day 

November 11 

Tuesday, November 11, 2014  

Thanksgiving Day 

4th Thursday in November

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Christmas Day

December 25 

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Public Holidays 2013

Day Observed

Date

Veteran’s Day 

November 11 

Monday, November 11, 2013  

Thanksgiving Day 

4th Thursday in November

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Christmas Day

December 25 

Wednesday, December 25, 2013


Virtually all the states observe certain other days during the year, the main ones being:

February 12th Lincoln's Birthday
Good Friday

Other American Celebration Days are:

Groundhog Day February 2nd
Mother's Day Second Sunday in May
Father's Day Third Sunday in June
Halloween October 31st

Further details on individual American holidays are available at:
http://www.usa.gov/citizens/holidays.shtml

Note on Daylight Saving Time in the U.S.

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is achieved by advancing the clock one hour. Most states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions observe Daylight Saving Time beginning at 2.00 a.m. on the second Sunday in March, and ending at 2.00 a.m. on the first Sunday of November. Arizona, Hawaii, American Samoa, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands do not observe DST.

Back to top